INSTITUT DE FRANCE CHRISTOPHE AND RODOLPHE MERIEUX FOUNDATION

CHRISTOPHE MERIEUX PRIZE 2016 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Each year the Institut de France's Christophe and Rodolphe Mérieux Foundation awards a Scientific "Grand Prize" known as the "Christophe Mérieux Prize" to support research into

INFECTIOUS DISEASES IN DEVELOPING COUNTRIES

This Prize is <u>exclusively</u> destined to researchers whose activity is permanently exercised in such countries.

The Christophe Mérieux Prize (500,000 Euros) will be allocated as follows:

- 100,000 Euros as personal reward to the Prize winner having the scientific responsibility of the team
- 400,000 Euros earmarked for the development of the team's research.

It will be awarded in 2016 under the following conditions:

Deadline for receipt of dossiers: November 6, 2015

Constitution of application dossiers:

-	CV of the applicant heading up the team	(1 page)
-	Composition of the team	(1 page)
-	Description of previous research achievements in the field	(2-3 pages)
-	Title of research project	
-	Current research project(s)	(2 pages)
-	List of ten most significant publications	
-	Reasons justifying the application for the Prize	(1/2 page)
-	Plus two supporting letters from outside Institutions	

Please note:

A candidacy that was not selected in the previous years can't be resubmitted more than three times.

Applications must be mailed electronically as one continuous pdf file to the following electronic address: <u>fondations@institut-de-france.fr</u> **And** sent by post (two copies papers):

> Bureau des Fondations Prix Christophe Mérieux Institut de France 23, quai de Conti 75270 <u>Paris</u> Cedex 06

For all further information, please contact the Foundations Office: Tel.: 01 44 41 44 48 – E-mail: <u>fondations@institut-de-france.fr</u>

Christophe Mérieux Prize – Previous Years :

2007: **Pr Ogobara Doumbo**, director of the Malaria Research and Training Center of Bamako (Mali) for his research work on malaria.

2008: **Pr François-Henri Nosten**, director of the Shoklo Malaria Research Unit (SMRU), in Thailand, for his work on malaria affecting pregnant women and their children.

2009: **Dr Eric Leroy**, director of the Emerging Viral Diseases Unit of the International Centre of Medical Research in Franceville (CIRMF), Gabon, for his research on emerging infectious viral diseases and arboviruses in Central Africa.

2010 : **Pr Jean-William Pape**, founder and director of GHESKIO (Haitian Group for the Study of Kaposi's Sarcoma and Opportunistic Infections) in Port-au-Prince, Haïti, for his considerable contribution to public health in Haiti and more specifically to AIDS research and prevention.

2011: **Dr Hector Hugo Garcia**, director of the Center for Global Health, Tumbes-Cayetano Heredia Peruvian University, for his considerable contribution to public health in Peru and particularly for his work in cysticercosis, the most common parasitical infection in developing countries that attacks the central nervous system.

2012: **Dr Firdausi Qadri**, director of the 'Centre for Vaccine Sciences diseases', ICDDR, B in Dhaka (Bangladesh), for her outstanding research on infectious enteric diseases, a scourge in developing countries.

2013: **Dr Valerie Mizrahi**, director of the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IIDMM) at the University of Cape Town (South Africa), for her outstanding research on tuberculosis, first cause of infectious mortality in the world, in particular in South Africa.

2014: **Dr Philippe Buchy**, head of the Virology Unit at the Institut Pasteur in Cambodia, for her outstanding research on infectious diseases (dengue, avian flu and tropical fevers) in Southeast Asia, in particular in Cambodia.

2015: **Dr Jean-Jacques Muyembe Tamfum**, director of the National Institute of Biomedical Research (INRB) of Kinshasa in Democratic Republic of Congo, to support his research on Ebola Hemorrhagic Fever Virus (EHFV) in the Congo basin.